Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio

Lisa and I left the Kayak Chicago architecture tour (see previous post) and headed back towards Naperville via I-290 when we saw a sign for the Frank Lloyed Wright Home and Studio and thought, “Hey! We’ve never done that either! Let’s go.” It’s right off of Harlem Ave on Chicago Avenue . . . a couple of blocks east.

We weren’t sure what to expect, but since I like woodworking and have some of that similar-style furniture in my home (some of which I’ve built myself) we found it interesting. Apparently, Wright used his primary residence, at this time period (late 1800’s early 1900’s) to experiment and develop his Prairie Style homes. Along the way he added a studio.

The Wright kids had a nice playroom

The Wright kids had a nice playroom

I had to pay $5 extra to be allowed to take photos   and I had to agree not to sell any of them. I took quite a few, but they are probably mostly of interest to me and I plan to use them as inspiration. So, I’m only adding a few.

Here is his working studio. Note there are no columns supporting the second story balcony/workshop area. It’s held up with heavy chain and some sort of roof and wall support from above.

Inside the Wright studio on Chicago Avenue

Inside the Wright studio on Chicago Avenue

Some of the plentiful stained-glass work.

Wright studio stained glass

Wright studio stained glass

Down the street from his home are other homes he designed or renovated. We asked the tour guide how we’d know which ones and she said, “Oh, you’ll know . . .”. Here are some examples:

The brick was even more colorful in person

The brick was even more colorful in person

Note there are no stairs to that front area of the house. He liked to make arrival an act of discovery

Note there are no stairs to that front area of the house. He liked to make arrival an act of discovery

This one is much closer to the street. BTW - all of these homes are private residences.

This one is much closer to the street. BTW – all of these homes are private residences.

The tour guide told us Wright took a trip to Japan and it influenced some of his designs

The tour guide told us Wright took a trip to Japan and it influenced some of his designs

We enjoyed the tour. It’s hard to believe that we’d never been there, especially since I grew up just east of Harlem and a bit south of I-55. That’s not far at all.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

