Harmonicats

I haven’t posted much about music and especially not lately. However, I was searching for something this week on the web and one thing led to another and here we are, posting about a trio of harmonica players.

Back when I was a little kid my father liked to play records every weekend, or so it seemed. Anyway, recently I was walking out of the office and it was dark, and I began whistling the melody to Twilight Time (see the history of the song here: Twilight Time History ). The song itself is waaaaay older than I am and written in 1944 or something like that, but I always liked it.

Then Twilight Time was a made famous by a musical group called The Platters back in 1958 (hear it on YouTube here: Platters Twilight Time ). Their version of the song if fantastic, but it was a different version that I remember just as well and part of the reason I never learned the lyrics. This was the one by a harmonica trio called the Harmonicats.

Harmonicat_Cover

 

 

The Harmonicats began back in the 1940s (see history here: Harmonicats History ), playing some specialized harmonicas (Chord and bass versions) and not the run-of-the mill Marine Band version like I have. It was probably 1967 before I ever heard them and I would have been very young. Here is a link to their version of Twilight Time .

The tune Maleguena is another I remember well: Harmonicats Maleguena  and is great.

If you like the sound of these harmonica players, poke around for some of the other recordings on YouTube. I especially like the ones from the LP titled, Peg o’My Heart, as that’s one of the two albums my father owned and played regularly. Songs like Perfidia, Galloping Comedians and Minute Waltz are just amazing, in my opinion.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

 

 

Leave a Reply

