Sea Kayak – Refinish 2014

I built a Chesapeake Light Craft, Chesapeake 17LT sea kayak back in March of 2007. I use it every year, though mostly on lakes, so it doesn’t get much abuse. The intense Colorado sun probably takes its toll more than anything else. Periodically, these wooden boats need to be refinished because the sun will break down the epoxy covering the boat and the varnish offers UV protection.

CH17LT Sea Kayak before sanding

CH17LT Sea Kayak before sanding

 

Sun and weather dulls the finish

Sun and weather dulls the finish

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I sanded down the entire hull and deck with ¬†a random orbit sander and some 80 grit paper, and then followed it up with some 150 grip paper. When I built this boat I didn’t have a shop vac or adapter for my sander resulting in a garage covered with epoxy sanding dust. My respirator worked hard back in those days, but since then I’ve made an adapter and connect the sander to a vacuum and the air stays quite clean.

All finished sanding except the hatch covers

All finished sanding except the hatch covers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before varnishing I added the hip braces which came with the boat but I delayed installing year-after-year. Now was a good time and also a good time to add some under-deck knee padding, as every time I’m out in rough weather I’m wishing I’d have done this, oh, my knees! The varnishing went well, though much to my frustration the hull came out much better than the deck. Arrrrrgh………Oh well, for now it’ll just have to protect the epoxy until one day when I get better at using the HVLP sprayer.

CH17LT new varnish

CH17LT new varnish

CH17LT hip braces installed

CH17LT hip braces installed

CH17LT under-deck knee pads installed

CH17LT under-deck knee pads installed

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for visiting my blog.

 

3 comments on “Sea Kayak – Refinish 2014

  1. Vince T says:

    Very nice! How many hours did it take to build the kayak?

    Like

    • sklcolorado says:

      Thanks. I didn’t log my hours for this boat, though I did for the three I built after this one. Based on those, the number of hours it takes to build one is between 40 and 50. The time from start to finish is in weeks, because of the curing time for the epoxy, and I found that the varnish isn’t totally dry after 24 hours, so I have been waiting 48 hours before adding additional coats. Thinking about building one?

      Like

Leave a Reply

