An Army of Davids

I started reading a book the other day, titled: An Army of Davids; How Markets and Technology Empower Ordinary People to Beat Big Media, Big Government and Other Goliaths. It is an easy read and I am roughly half-way through it. The author is Glenn Reynolds who is the blogger at Instapundit.com and a law professor at the University of Tennessee. He is definitely a big proponent of the easy access and and use of the internet. It is pretty light and somewhat interesting. I like the information he presesnts on ways the internet is used for business these days, and I’ve raised my eyebrow more than once at some of his social conclusions (e.g. violent video games). Some video games can teach while entertain, like the Roller Coaster Tycoon games which the kids  love, and teaches them about basically running a business (as near as I can tell). He starts with brewing your own beer and the effects that that movement had on the beer industry . . . from micro-brews popping up all over, to the big guys coming out with born-on dating, etc. He moves on to the music recording industry and how technology has changed things there, from people like me with home recording equipment to the distribution of music, via MP3, etc. Anyway, if you’ve got a bit of time for some light reading (lighter than some of the web pages I’ve promoted in the past) it could get you thinking about things. I checked it out of the library.

2 comments on “An Army of Davids

  1. Diane L says:

    did you just stumble across it at the library or did you hear of it somewhere? i’m just curious, i like to know how people end up reading what they read–if it’s random, etc.

    Like

  2. Steven L says:

    I believe that I was reading an article . . . perhaps by Mark Steyn or maybe at the Claremont Institute site. Heck, I don’t know. It could have been at the Power Line blog. Usually I hear about it somehow and if it sounds interesting I might try to read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

