Something Borrowed

I’ve been considering learning another musical instrument for several years now. The candidates are accordion, banjo and mandolin. I borrowed a 1920s Gibson A body mandolin from a friend last night. He had a couple of old Mel Bay books and I got about half-way through the first one. Not too difficult to learn, so far. What’s wierd is that the strings are the reverse of a guitar minus the B and E string (E-A-D-G vs. G-D-A-E), so it can be a little confusing. I guess this is the way a violin is set up. It turns out that the mandolin is like a violin, and a mandola is like a viola and a mandocello is like . . . you guessed it. A cello.

6 comments on “Something Borrowed

  1. Diane L says:

    Hey, I’ve always wanted to learn the banjo–don’t learn that until I get to move out there 🙂 Jesse wants to learn too. Latley, he’s been playing his electric guitar really, really LOUD! I think he knows a few chords, C, G, and maybe F??? All I know is it’s LOUD. Accoridan???? huh. Never thought of you as an accordian fella.

    Like

  2. Steven L says:

    One song I wrote a couple of years ago really needed an accordion solo in there, but I didn’t have one, didn’t know how to buy one and of course didn’t know how to play one. So, I added a slide guitar solo instead. I’m having trouble imagining you as a banjo player.

    Like

  3. Diane L says:

    Whaddya mean?!! I’d make a fabulous banjo player! I can do anything! I’m like….Wonder Woman! yeah, JUST like her.

    Like

  4. Steven L says:

    I don’t doubt that you could do it . . . I just can’t picture it. But, once you move out here, and if we could get Cathy to move out here we could have a regular bluegrass band.

    Like

  5. Kathy C says:

    I have an accordian…although no one in my house plays it!

    Like

  6. Steven L says:

    Nobody plays this borrowed mandolin at their house either. Where did you get you accordion? I’ve been looking at new mandolins for the last week and I’m thinking that I’ll get one. What I’d really like to be able to do is just sit down with some people on Sunday afternoons and play some tunes and have some fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

